Warhammer 40’000: 8th Edition: 1 Minute to Midnight

Greetings all,

I know, I’m as irregular posting as the public transport in London is at running on time (to those not native to this smog filled Capital, the chances of public transport running on time is incredibly slim).

Still, a new edition of 40K is enough to stir me from my own insular world. Now I’m sure that there is going to be a lot of information on the net. So I figure I’ll not regurgitate what’s been said, instead here’s my stance:

Sweet, new Marines! Awesome, more Chaos! A stream lined ruleset, hells yeah. Guillaman, our spiritual liege and some random Adeptus Mechanicus dude (who is 10,000 years old!) redefining the entire way the Imperium functions and improving upon the genetic handiwork of a man-God who has literally been called the Master of Mankind… yeah, um alright.

Primatrs Space Marine

Hyper post-human Astartes badass

I am a GW fan boy, I freely admit it and I do mean fan in its literal sense. I am fanatical about my adoration of GW. Anyone that’s perused this blog will no doubt have seen my scrawlings, as I attempt to emulate authors like Aaron Dembski-Bowden, Dan Abnett, Graham McNeill and Simon Spurrier (author of Lord of the Night, a Night Lords novel that was a cracking read and the reason I have converted the protagonist Zso Sahaal more than a few times). So I’ll try to be objective, however my adoration of the plastic crackorium means I’ll always have a positive bias.

I really like the new Astartes, I think the models are pretty ace. Mark X armour is not my favourite, however it combines elements of 30K and 40K armour in a pleasing manner. The Bolt Rifle will never replace the glorious Boltgun, however it is a perfectly acceptable weapon and fits the aesthetic of an Astartes firearm. Admittedly the Inceptor’s aren’t my cup of tea, the jump pack cowl, the exoskeleton and the gun shields just don’t do it for me. I’m afraid to say that the Gravis armoured Captain also does nothing for me. I like the concept of a cross between power armour and terminator armour, however I sort of feel like that bridge is gapped by the Tartaros Terminator pattern armour. That said the Intercessor and Hellblaster squads, along with power armoured command are awesome. I feel like they’ve nailed some of the poses as well. You really get the sense that these Marines are striding through battle, unleashing salvo after salvo of mass reactive bolt rounds in to the midst of the, misunderstood heroes of the Imperium, traitorous filth.

It just bugs the hell out of me that these hyper post-humans are superior to their Astartes counterparts in (as far as we know) every way. I can get over Roboute Guillaman being the architect of this new horizon. I’m willing to accept Cawl as the Mechanicum Messiah, dude has serious skills. I just don’t like the idea that in a galaxy where technological advancement for humans has stagnated, that this one guy (perhaps with the help of a few assistants) has absolutely smashed his way through biological and technical advancements. Of which this sort of flies in the face of the Emperor’s commands, basically, don’t f%*k with Astartes genetics. Instead Cawl not only has a dabble with Astartes genetics, he apparently improves upon it in every way. Now sure, we know that Astartes are not the pinnacle of humanity’s genetic perfection, that award goes to the Custodes. We also know that the brutal precursors to the Astartes, the Thunder Warriors, were superior in the sense of their raw brutality, however they were genetically unstable and that’s what I wish the Primaris Marines were; genetically unstable in some way, flawed, defective, whatever, just something that makes them both greater and less than their Astartes counterparts. Hell, if they were a resurrection of the Thunder Warrior programme in humanity’s darkest hour that would be awesome. Instead we have the superior superior Astartes. Alright, rant over. I just feel like it was a small misstep in an otherwise awesome narrative. The Dark Imperium sounds awesome and I’m totally on board this Great Rift that divides the stars, the grim dark of the far future just got a whole lot darker and that will undoubtedly be the catalyst for yet more amazing stories.

Side note, I’ll be interested to see how the scale of a Primaris marine stands next to a True Scale marine. Of course I didn’t want to lose my super special unique True Scale snowflakes, however then I realised that this is potentially an amazing resource of scaled components. Definitely a win right there!

I’ve heard a fair few ramblings that Primaris Marines are the beginning of the end of the 28mm Marines that we know and hoard. My guess is, perhaps, maybe in a year, five or ten. Perhaps this is the beginning of all Marines being upscaled. Yep, even the heretics, as hilariously there have been hints that the Primaris Marines are resistant but not immune to the predations of Chaos. Which I think is a phenomenal caveat:

 

Guillaman: I want Astartes but I want them bigger.

Cawl: Done.

Guillaman: Stronger?

Cawl: Check.

Guillaman: Smarter?

Cawl: You betch’ya.

Guillaman: Better weaponry? More organs? The ability to genetically alter existing Astartes to make them hyper post-Astartes?

Cawl: Nailed it.

Guillaman: Incorruptible?

Cawl: Hm?

Guillaman: You did make them immune to the temptations of the dark pantheon?

Cawl: Have any of them turned traitor?

Guillman: Not to my knowledge?

Cawl: Then yes. They are 100% incorruptible. Now I think I left something on in my laboratory, or as I call it, the Cawlatorium.

Guillaman: Good enough for me.

 

On that note, I feel I’ve shoved enough words on to the net. I’m looking forward to 8th edition, I’ve been so hard for Heresy that it will be great to game in the grim darkness of the slightly further than far future.

Have a great one all.

Ed

Disclaimer: The pictures in this article are not mine and are for entertainment purposes only, to help illustrate the awesomeness of post-humans in advanced power armour.

11 thoughts on “Warhammer 40’000: 8th Edition: 1 Minute to Midnight

    1. Cheers, much appreciated. I’ve been enjoying all of the hype around 8th edition and it’s been interesting seeing everyone’s take on it. Cracking work on your Nurgle too bud, they look ace.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Absolutely agree with you, I hoped that the era of super awesome heroes vs totally evil baddies had been consigned to the dustbin of history and we’d instead see something a little more complex and nuanced. Your suggestion of a resurrected Thunder Warrior’s program, for example, would have fitted the bill nicely, tying in with the existing background and creating something engaging, with lots of intricacies and shades of grey for future writers to explore.

    I’m also baffled by the suggestion that these new Marines are somehow more resistant to the influence of Chaos. Surely such clumsy writing betrays a failure to understand the key irony of Chaos, that it plays upon your better nature and corrupts you through your higher ideals. With the exception of the Night Lords who were essentially created to be bastards the original traitor legions all turned to Chaos for good reasons, their choices based on a desire to do what was right. That’s the great tragedy of Chaos, that they were damned by their virtues, that the road to a very real Hell was paved with good intentions. How did Cawl mitigate that at a genetic level? Do they not desire to do good? Do they have no free will? Or is it simply lazy writing? Time will tell.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers for the comment bud. Aye, it’s an odd choice of route that they decided on. I tend to read books based on the author rather than the subject matter, so it will be interesting to see how my favourites will take on the new narrative. Definitely looking forward to ADB’s second Black Legion novel, as I feel he is able to capture the twisted humanity within the traitor’s mentality. It would have been bloody interesting to understand why they adopted the story line that they did.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My money is on Fabius Bile has one in the lab already, Erebus has one on the phone with an offer, and what happens the first time one punches Lucius in the face? You just know these Primarus dudes have a raging, dark-secret even before they left the lab.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, that is a brilliant bunch of scenarios right there. I think my favourite has to be Erebus on the blower “Yeah so the Big E, what a corpse God right. Dude, if you want, y’know, alive Gods. Well, I can sort you out. Price? Nope, none that I can think of”. Black Library need to make it happen.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. “Forget the promise of progression” was always my favourite part of the portal text for 40k. It feels a bit far off these days. In new Warhammer 40k progression is literally what is going to save mankind. Guilleman and Cawl improving on the Emperor’s work. I have a hard time wrapping my head around that. There must be a flaw, something that will wrack havoc on their creation and turn it against them. I see no salvation in the grim darkness of the far future.

    Oh well, Dark Imperium sounds very grim dark still.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree bud. I think the setting is so vast and has so much scope that there was never a need for progression. At the moment the Primaris Marines are a bit too Mary Sue for my liking, however I’m hoping this is setting us up for some even grimmer darker times. Are you going to read the first of the new books, Dark Imperium?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t know about picking up the new book line. I’m sad to admit that I’m not much of a book reader anymore.

        I really hope that we are in for some kind of twist in plot. Just having really really good guys fighting really really bad guys would be dull and quite a major step from the Shakespearean tragedy of the original setting. I’m up for a good fight between the forces of good and evil but there must be some kind of biblical sense of loss and frailty connected to it. The enemy within yourself is the one you need to defeat first and foremost. Without this struggle you lose the sense of morality and true conflict.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s fair enough bud, I read way less than I used to. I am currently re-reading Talon of Horus, as book two is due out soon and ADB is damn good at writing flawed yet interesting characters.
        I completely agree with you, definitely hope we’ll get some fleshed out and deeper stories after the initial whipcrack of ‘wow’ new release.

        Like

Leave a Reply

