Inquisitor WIP: A Legacy of Terror

Evening all,

Well, my plans to present the model that goes with chapter two of my Inquisition warband has gone quite awry. I’m in the final stages of painting him up, but he won’t be ready until next weekend now.

Instead, I thought I’d post an old model that I’ve taken a renewed interest in. 

 

The red right hand of the sergeant.

  
    
 
When the Tempestus Scions were released I was initially disappointed. I’d been really hoping that the Stormtroopers would get released in plastic. However, it didn’t take long for me to warm to the Scions. Once I had, I started to see the sheer amount of kit bash opportunity that they presented. I’ve no idea if I’m the first to combine the Space Marine Scout torso with the Scion legs, but I really like how they work together. The bulk of the torso seems to fit the athletic pose of the legs. The head is from the Imperial Guard command sprue and I think the Boltgun arm is from the Scout Storm set. I’ve deliberately mixed up the shoulder pads of the squad to give them less of a uniform look.

I originaly painted his armour in a charcoal grey, then I realised it bored the hell out of me. The Night Lords have always been my favourite legion, so I thought I’d have this chap wearing midnight clad. He’s actually part of a squad, but they’re at my mates house, so I’ll post them up at a later date.

The narrative is probably going to be that a radical Inquisitor, with an Istavaanian philosophical view, believes that the ways of the enemy had merit. Requisitioning a small number of Red Hunters, Exorcists or other Astartes tied to the Inquisition, he begins to train them in the image of the traitors. This squad will be based on the Night Lords. You may have noticed the red right hand of the scout. I like the idea that records of the Night Lords/Nostraman customs are difficult (to say the least) to come by. As such, the Inquisitor mistakes a reference to ‘red hands’, thinking that these were brutal individuals picked out to support the sergeants, commanders, etc. As opposed to it actually being man marked for death at his commanders leisure; perhaps while the commander is swirling a brandy round in his glass, while lounging comfortably in a throne.

I’ve also painted up one of my Scion models, with a Skitarii vanguard head, in GW Alpha Legion colours. I doubt I’ll do loyalist variants of all the traitors, but I think it could be a nice radical side project.

We are legion.

Anyway, hope you’ve enjoyed.

Have an ace one all.

Ed

Leave a Reply

